PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Pittsburgh, PA

Lellobeetle
November 5th, 2015, 03:05 PM
Warm greetings everyone. I'm Laura and I live in Pittsburgh, PA. I'm new to opera after being a fan of classic music and choral music all my life. I'm 46 and discovered and have fallen in love with Montserrat Caballé.

:conductor:

Clayton
November 5th, 2015, 03:23 PM
Hello Laura and welcome to Opera Lively!

There are classic music and choral music fans here too so please do post on those threads too...

It's a favourite question here but what (or which) attracted you to opera and which are you listening to most now?

Ann Lander (sospiro)
November 5th, 2015, 05:24 PM
Hi Laura and welcome to the forum.

Great to meet someone else who came late to opera and I look forward to hearing about your discoveries and your opera journey.

Amfortas
November 5th, 2015, 05:53 PM
Welcome, Laura! I too fell in love with Montserrat . . . but it's a long, painful story.

Lellobeetle
November 5th, 2015, 09:06 PM
It's a favourite question here but what (or which) attracted you to opera and which are you listening to most now?

Norma.

Lellobeetle
November 5th, 2015, 09:47 PM
Welcome, Laura! I too fell in love with Montserrat . . . but it's a long, painful story.

Is she not well regarded on the forum or among opera goers?

Amfortas
November 5th, 2015, 11:16 PM

Sorry, I was just being silly. Pay no attention to me; it's the first thing everyone on this forum learns.

Hoffmann
November 6th, 2015, 03:04 AM
Hi Laura,

Welcome to OL! Lots of different points of view from lots of different places makes things interesting. It's a very friendly and welcoming group, so hope you enjoy yourself.

Luiz Gazzola (Almaviva)
November 6th, 2015, 03:29 AM

Much the opposite, she is a very respected, very beloved, first rate singer with one of the best voices ever.

Our good Amfortas has a keen sense of humor, so, don't take what he says literally... Smart and funny, our Amfortas.

Welcome to Opera Lively!