PDA

View Full Version : My journey as a beginner.

treemaker
March 12th, 2012, 01:33 AM
Hi, everyone, I'm finally ready to post here.

I look around and clearly I am still a novice. So I have a lot of reading to do. Things are looking up for me, if I am to study opera. I live near Seattle. I have one friend who regularly gets passes to the dress rehearsals of the Seattle Opera productions, and has invited me to join her. Also, there is another gentleman here locally who does lecture presentations of the Seattle Opera productions for patrons of my county library system. I am hoping to attend these. Hopefully a year from now I will be in a better place, if I plod along at a steady pace.

treemaker

Luiz Gazzola (Almaviva)
March 12th, 2012, 01:47 AM
Hi, everyone, I'm finally ready to post here.

I look around and clearly I am still a novice. So I have a lot of reading to do. Things are looking up for me, if I am to study opera. I live near Seattle. I have one friend who regularly gets passes to the dress rehearsals of the Seattle Opera productions, and has invited me to join her. Also, there is another gentleman here locally who does lecture presentations of the Seattle Opera productions for patrons of my county library system. I am hoping to attend these. Hopefully a year from now I will be in a better place, if I plod along at a steady pace.

treemaker

Well, isn't it the best of moments, when one is excitedly exploring opera and learning about this spectacular art form? We were all beginners at some point, and we remember those times with fondness. And even though many of us here are seasoned opera lovers, the journey never ends and learning is always ahead, since it is such a vast field.

I hope that Opera Lively will be instrumental in your learning, but of course, the best way to learn is to attend live opera, which you'll be doing by going to the dress rehearsals.

I wish you a lifetime of pleasure with opera.

treemaker
March 12th, 2012, 02:15 AM