PDA

View Full Version : Hi I'm Elena

Elena House
May 23rd, 2012, 09:23 PM
Hi Everyone.

My name is Elena and I’m 13 years old. I have been enjoying Opera since I was 3 years old. I have been learning classical singing from an ex-opera singer in Paris, France through video exchange and emails since I live near Atlanta, Georgia. I was hoping that along with joining in the discussions that I could get some feedback from the members here on my “Opera” singing. I quote that because I am too young to sing true Opera yet but along with my vocalises my teacher has me sing some easier Opera songs. He has also stressed that I am not allowed to push my volume in order to protect my young vocal cords. We work on mouth position and breathing support a lot and let the microphone assist in the volume.

I admit that I am a bit nervous to get into the discussions due to my inexperience but I will give it my best honest try. I obviously don’t have a history of seeing some of the old greats perform but my all time favorite soprano is Maria Callas. I have listened to her CD 100 times. My teacher said she was best before the 1970’s but I love all her singing.

I also play classical piano, act, dance, do gymnastics, and martial arts.

Here is a video of my very first Opera “Porgi Amor” from Le nozze di Figaro. Thank you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=veb6gvWDoNs

treemaker
May 23rd, 2012, 09:35 PM
Greetings! Welcome to the Forum! We are glad to have someone so young who is passionate about opera.

Please consider using an alias instead of your real name. First of all, it's very creative to come up with your own alias. More importantly, it is an Internet security measure. If you use your real name, people can Google you and see your post. I'm not sure about you, but I don't want that for me, so I use an alias to feel more secure on the Internet.

First names seem to be fine. My alias is treemaker but I always sign my name Scott.

I'm really looking forward to having you on the forum.