Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Spoiled Performances

Bookmark and Share
    Senior Member Involved Member Nervous Gentleman's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Spoiled Performances

OK, the idea for this thread is to name a particular recording or performance of a work that was otherwise fine, but is spoiled by the participation of one individual. I do not intend to be mean-spirited by initiating such a thread; only there are several instances I can recall in which a performance is ruined by a single performer, either due to that individual having an uncharacteristically "bad night" or because such below par performances is habitual with said individual.

What suggested this idea to me is a recording I made early this year from an internet broadcast of the very rare "sacred opera" by Anton Rubinstein, "Christus." Although I am no expert, I think the performance is excellent; with the exception of one of the principal soloists who I think so horrible that her "singing" in more akin to shrieking and, again in my opinion, she absolutely ruined an otherwise exceptional performance of a rare work. In fact, the pain being inflicted on one of her fellow soloists (who was so unfortunate as to be sitting in close proximity) can clearly be seen in this still, taken from the video of the performance:

Name:  vlcsnap-2011-12-19-00h06m54s57.jpg
Views: 204
Size:  29.0 KB

Can anyone think of any similar instance?

Banned Top Contributor Member
    Post Thanks / Like

I totally agree with those who claim that Netrebko leaves much to be desired as Elvira but I would enjoy this performance with her and other singers quite much if not Eric Cutler who made this unwatchable for me. Archetype of fop-tenor. They'd put Flórez instead of him, it would be only 2485454320834 times inferior to DVD with Machaidze (with Netrebko's Elvira being 2485454320800 times inferior to Machaidze's and 34 degrees of inferiority coming from bass/baritone supporting duo).

Post Thanks / Like