Thread: Questionary for University research

Bookmark and Share
    Junior Member Newcomer
    Post Thanks / Like

Questionary for University research

Hello everybody! I'm an italian university student and I need your help!!! For my research I need to know what you think about:
    - positives;
    - negatives;
    - what kind of service you think is missing nowadays
    concerning the structure itself, the performances and the services of opera theaters.
    I'll be grateful to everyone who will be kind enough to answer as soon as possible.
    Thank you!

Opera Lively Site Owner / Administrator / Chief Editor Top Contributor Member Luiz Gazzola (Almaviva)'s Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Welcome to Opera Lively, and good luck with your research paper. Interesting question, I hope our members will contribute extensively.

However it is a bit hard to respond to this in general terms; the response would vary according to each individual opera theater. I think we do have a thread somewhere comparing the pros and cons of various opera theaters around the world. That thread would respond to a large chunk of your questions. I'm a bit busy right now to find it; maybe someone will and will post a link to it here, or you yourself will (it is probably somewhere in the General Operatic Discussion section).

Another hard question to answer, is when you say "concerning the performances" - this will be even more variable, since the same opera theater can put together an outstanding performance one week, and a horrible one the following week. I don't know how to say anything about performance in the context of your question, so I'd rather reply about structure and services, regarding a couple of theaters that I know - please let me know if this is what you need.

Metropolitan Opera House, New York City, NY, USA

Structure

Positives
    - Excellent acoustics
    - Comfortable seats with adequate leg room